**The De Soto Public Library Board of Trustees will conduct their regular monthly board meeting on November 9, 2020 @ 7PM via Zoom as the library is presently observing Jefferson County pandemic guidance. Please email us at: tabdspl1935@gmail.com to obtain meeting call-in information to attend board meeting proceedings in real time.**


The De Soto Public Library is led by a team devoted to connecting you with the information you need to improve and enrich your life.

In addition to the leadership, we have 5 full- and part-time employees and several volunteers who help make it possible for us to bring so many resources, programs, and events to De Soto, Missouri residents.


Tony A. Benningfield grew up as a loyal patron of his local public library, spending the bulk of his childhood poring over history books and anything else he could get his hands on.  During his junior year of college he became a “jack of all trades” for his Jefferson College library director, which led him to apply for De Soto Public Library’s open director position. After completing his Bachelor of Arts in History at the University of Missouri-St. Louis, Tony was hired at De Soto Public Library and has worked here as director since 2015. In 2018, Tony began his Masters in Library and Information Science at the University of North Texas.


The library’s nine-member Board of Trustees is charged with ensuring that the library fulfills its mission in a fiscally and operationally responsible way. The board is governed by a set of bylaws, which is regularly reviewed and amended as needed.

Library trustees are De Soto residents who are elected to three-year terms. They receive no compensation and represent the interests of the community.

Library trustee elections are held in June.

Current Trustees

  • Linda Bean, President
  • Jillian Lutz, Vice President
  • Ruth Rose, Treasurer
  • Lisa Winkleman, Secretary
  • Bruce McKinstry
  • Terri Walker
  • Ben Thebeau
  • Susan Draper
  • (OPEN)

The full board meets the second Monday of every month. The public is invited and encouraged to attend.


The board’s committees meet regularly to discuss library business. These meetings are open to the public and posted on the calendar.

Executive Committee: Linda Bean (President), Jillian Lutz (Vice President), Ruth Rose (Treasurer), Lisa Winkleman (Secretary)

Finance Committee: Ruth Rose (Chair), Jillian Lutz, Terri Walker

Policy & Governance Committee: *vacant*(Chair), Lisa Winkleman, Susan Draper

Building Committee: Bruce McKinstry (Chair), Ben Thebeau, Linda Bean

It's only fair to share...Share on Facebook
0Pin on Pinterest
0Tweet about this on Twitter